The term "transient merchant" includes any person, individual, copartnership, limited liability company, and corporation, both as principal and agent, who engage in, do, or transact any temporary and transient business in this state, either in one locality, or in traveling from place to place in this state, selling goods, wares, and merchandise; and who, for the purpose of carrying on such business, hire, lease, occupy, or use a building, structure, vacant lot, or railroad car for the exhibition and sale of such goods, wares, and merchandise. The term "transient merchant" does not include a seller or exhibitor in a firearms collector show involving two or more sellers or exhibitors.
There are certain sales excepted from this requirement by Minnesota Statute. The provisions of sections 329.10 to 329.13 and 329.14 to 329.17 shall not apply to sales made to dealers by commercial travelers or selling agents in the usual course of business, nor to bona fide sales of goods, wares, and merchandise by sample, catalog, or brochure, for future delivery, or to hawkers on the street, or to peddlers from vehicles, baskets, or packs carried on their backs, or to sheriffs or other public officers selling goods, wares, and merchandise according to law; nor to bona fide assignees or receivers appointed in this state selling goods, wares, and merchandise for the benefit of creditors, nor to persons who may sell or peddle the products of the farm or garden occupied and cultivated by themselves, nor to sales made by a seller at a residential premises pursuant to an invitation issued by the owner or legal occupant of the premises.
How to Apply
You must complete the following forms and return them to the auditors with any additional documents and fees as required:
Transient Merchant License Application, which include the Appointment of County Auditor as Agent
Minnesota Workers' Compensation Certification of Compliance
Minnesota License Applicant Information
- Surety Bond, made payable to Kanabec County, in the amount of $1,000.00
- An itemized list of merchandise being offered for sale, including:
- A description of each item
- The serial number of each item, if any
- The owner's actual cost of each item
- An item number corresponding with
- a number that is affixed to each item until
- A copy of the seller's permit as issued under section 297A.83 or a written statement from the applicant stating that applicant is not offering for sale any item that is taxable under Chapter 297A
- Licenses are valid for one year from the date issued and for one sale location only.
- The license fee is $150.00 for each sale location.
- We accept cash, check or money order.
- Checks are made payable to Kanabec County Auditor.