Auctioneer License

A Resident Auctioneer License is issued to a resident of the State of Minnesota. To be eligible for a resident license an applicant must be:

  • 18 years of age or older
  • Resident of the county in which you submit your application for at least 6 months prior to the date of application

Application Process
You may apply in person or by mail for a license. The following forms must be printed, signed, notarized and accepted by our office before we will issue a license. We do have a notary public available at the courthouse most days. The application is available for print below or at our office.

A Corporate Surety Bond for Auctioneers in the amount of not more than $1,000.00 or less than $3,000.00 must accompany the license application.
The bond shall be made payable to Kanabec County

Fees

  • A new or renewal license is $20.00
  • We accept cash, check, or money order
  • Checks or money orders are made payable to Kanabec County Auditor
  • We do not accept credit or debit cards

Renewals

To renew your auctioneer license, you need to complete the Resident Auctioneer License Application and submit the surety bond and appropriate fees prior to the expiration of your current license.

All license are valid one year from the date of issuance.

Non-Resident Auctioneer License

An auctioneer's license is requred by any non-resident in order to conduct an auction with the State of Minnesota. "A resident of another state which issues auctioneers' licenses to citizens of the state of Minnesota on the same or similar basis as to citizens of such state may be licensed as an auctioneer in the state of Minnesota upon compliance with the laws of the state of Minnesota relating to auctioneers' licenses." An applicant must establish reciprocity prior to issuance of a non-resident license.

To qualify for a license an applicant must be:

18 years of age or older
Resident of the county and state you are claiming residency to for 6 months prior to the date of your application

Application Process
You may apply in person or by mail for a license. An application and Minnesota License Applicant Information form must be printed, signed, notarized and accepted by our office before we will issue a license. The forms are available for print below or at our office.

Additional information required to establish reciprocity:

  • A certified copy of your auctioneer's license, if one was issued by your resident state
  • A certified copy of the state auction laws from your resident state, in effect at the time of your application
  • If you reside in a state that has no auctioneer statutes, you must submit a certified copy of the auctioneer's ordinance that exists in the municipality in which your Auctioneer's license was issued or a statement from the City Clerk affirming that:
  • The state has no statutes relating to the licensing of auctioneers, and
  • a Minnesota resident may conduct auctions in the municipality on the same or similar basis as a resident of that municipality
  • A Corporate Surety Bond for Auctioneers in the amount of not more than $1,000.00 or less than $3,000.00 must accompany the license application.
  • The bond shall be made payable to Kanabec County
  • Fees
  • A new or renewal license is $20.00
  • We accept cash, check, or money order
  • Checks or money orders are made payable to Kanabec County Auditor
  • We do not accept credit or debit cards

Renewals
To renew your auctioneer license, you need to complete the Non Resident Auctioneer License Application and submit the surety bond and appropriate fees prior to the expiration of your current license.

  • All license are valid one year from the date of issuance.
  • Additional Information - Resident and Non-Resident
  • All advertisements of auction sales must list the name, address and license number of the auctioneer(s) conducting the sale.
  • Any change of address by the licensee requires a written notification and a fee of $3.00 to the County Auditor. The County Auditor will issue a duplicate license showing the new address. The licensee has 30 days from the date of address change to notify the County Auditor. Failure to submit notification of an address change can result in automatic cancellation of your license.
Penalties
Any person who violate the provisions for Auctioneers as provided in Minnesota Statutes Chapter 330 is guilty of a misdemeanor.